Tripura is a popular for elegant landscapes, crystalline waterfalls, picturesque mountains, dense forests, with a rich tradition, art and culture. Agartala is the capital and the largest city of Tripura.

Tripura shares its border with the Indian states of Assam and Mizoram to the east and shares international border with Bangladesh to the north, south and west.

The Sanskrit name of the state is linked to the Hindu goddess of beauty named ‘Tripura Sundari’, the presiding deity of the ‘Tripura Sundari Temple’ at Udaipur (formerly known as Ranghamati) in Tripura, one of the 51 Shakti Peethas (pilgrimage centres of Shaktism).

The state has a tropical savanna climate. The four main seasons in Tripura are winter, from December to February; pre-monsoon or summer from March to April; monsoon, from May to September; and post-monsoon from October to November. During the monsoon season, the south west monsoon brings heavy rains, which cause frequent floods. During winter, temperatures range from 13 to 27 °C, while in the summer it falls between 24 and 36 °C.