Famous Temples and Spiritual Places in Karnataka

Durga Temple in Aihole

Durga Temple in Aihole

Durga Mandir, Bagalkot
Deity: Lord Shiva

The Durga Temple is a medieval temple located in Aihole in the state of Karnataka. Apart from the fine carvings, it is famous as a rare round-ended temple. The temple was probably built in the late 7th century by the dynasty of the Chalukyas. It is the largest of a group of over 120 temples at Aihole.

Chennakesava Temple in Somanathapura

Chennakesava Temple (Keshava Temple), Somanathapura
Deity: Keshava (Lord Vishnu)

The Chennakeshava Temple, also referred to as Keshava Temple, is a Vaishnava Hindu temple on the banks of River Kaveri at Somanathapura, Karnataka. The temple was consecrated in 1258 CE by Somanatha Dandanayaka, a general of the Hoysala King Narasimha III. It is located 38 kilometres (24 mi) east of Mysuru city.

Chamundeshwari Mandir in Mysore

Chamundeshwari Mandir in Mysore

Chamundeshwari Mandir, Mysore
Deity: Devi Chamundeshwari

The Chamundeshwari Temple is a Hindu temple located on the top of Chamundi Hills about 13 km from the palace city of Mysore in the state of Karnataka. The temple is dedicated to Devi Chamundeshwari (Goddess Durga), the fierce form of Shakti, a tutelary deity held in reverence for centuries by Mysore Maharajas. Chamundeshwari is called by the people of Karnataka as Naada Devathe which means State Goddess.

Udupi Sri Krishna Temple and Matha, Udupi
Deity: Lord Krishna

Udupi Sri Krishna Temple is a famous temple dedicated to Lord Krishna and Dvaita Matha located in the city of Udupi in Karnataka. The matha area resembles a living ashram, a holy place for daily devotion and living. Surrounding the Sri Krishna Temple are several temples namely the Udupi Anantheshwara Temple which is over a 1,000 years old.

Dharmasthala Templ, Dakshina Kannada
Deity: Manjunatha (Lord Shiva) and Chandraprabhu

Dharmasthala Temple (Kṣētra Dharmasthala) is an 800-year-old religious institution in the temple town of Dharmasthala in Dakshina Kannada, Karnataka. The deities of the temple are Shiva, who is referred to as Mañjunatha, Ammanavaru, the Tirthankara Chandraprabha and the protective gods of Jainism, Kalarahu, Kalarkayi, Kumarasvami and Kanyakumari.

Virupaksha Temple, Bellary
Deity: Lord Shiva

Virupaksha Temple is located in Hampi in the Ballari district of Karnataka and dedicated to Lord Virupaksha, a form of Shiva. It is part of the Group of Monuments at Hampi, designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The temple was built by Lakkan Dandesha, a nayaka (chieftain) under the ruler Deva Raya II also known as Prauda Deva Raya of the Vijayanagara Empire. Hampi, capital of the Vijayanagara empire, sits on the banks of the Tungabhadra River. Virupaksha Temple is the main center of pilgrimage at Hampi, and had been considered the most sacred sanctuary over the centuries. It is intact among the surrounding ruins and is still used in worship .

Chennakeshava Temple (Keshava Temple or Vijayanarayana Temple), Hassan
Deity: Chennakeshava (Lord Vishnu)

The Chennakeshava Temple, also referred to as Keshava or Vijayanarayana Temple of Belur, is a 12th-century Hindu temple in the Hassan district of Karnataka. The temple was built over three generations and took 103 years to finish. It was repeatedly damaged and plundered during wars, repeatedly rebuilt and repaired over its history. It is 35 km from Hassan city and about 200 km from Bengaluru.

Murdeshwar Temple, Uttara Kannada
Deity: Lord Shiva

Murdeshwar Temple is built on the Kanduka Hill which is surrounded on three sides by the waters of the Arabian Sea. It is dedicated to Lord Shiva, and a 20 storied gopuram (a monumental entrance tower) is constructed at the temple. The temple authorities have installed a lift that provides a breath-taking view of the 123-feet Sri Shiva idol from the top of the Raja Gopura.

There is also a Rameshwara linga at the bottom of the hill, where devotees can do seva themselves. A Shaneswar temple has been built next to the idol of Sri Akshayaguna (Lord Shiva). Two life-size elephants in concrete stand guard at the steps leading to it.

Kukke Subramanya Temple, Dakshina Kannada
Deity: Lord Kartikeya

Kukke Subramanya is a temple located in the village of Subramanya, Karnataka. In this temple Kartikeya is worshipped as Subramanya,lord of all serpents. The epics relate that the divine serpent Vasuki and other serpents found refuge under Subramanya when threatened by the Garuda. Pilgrims going to the temple have to cross the Kumaradhara River and take a holy dip in the river before entering the temple for their darshan holy viewing of the Lord.

Gokarna Temple, Uttara Kannada
Deity: Lord Shiva

Gokarna is a small temple town on the western coast, in the Kumta taluk of Uttara Kannada district of Karnataka. The main temple and deity is Lord Shiva, who is also known as Mahabaleshwara. This temple houses what is believed to be original image of Lord Shiva’s linga (Atmalinga). There are many other temples all over this small town. Ankola and Kumta on NH66 are the main towns where as Bhatkal and Karwar are the main small cities near Gokarna. Gokarna is known as one of the seven important pilgrimage centers in India.